Miso Clinic · Clinical column

Juvelook (PDLLA): how far has it actually been established?

It is a booster whose name comes up often at the moment. What follows is what it is made of, where it differs from the products already in use, and how far the published human data actually reach, set down as we found them. This is not a piece arguing that it is good or bad; it is a piece sorting out what is on the record right now. Where we could not find something, we have said that we could not find it.

Clinical column About a 10-minute read August 2026 Miso Clinic, Daegu · Dr. Lee Chi-Hak

The short answer

Juvelook is an injectable that suspends PDLLA (poly-D,L-lactic acid) microspheres in hyaluronic acid, and in Korea it is classified as a medical device under the heading ‘tissue restoration material’. It belongs to the family that prompts the body to make its own collagen, which puts it to the same purpose as GOURI (liquid PCL) and Radiesse · DCLASSY (CaHA), though the material itself is different. What has been published in people, however, is still thin — one study of the tear trough and one nodule case report from the same group is about the extent of what we could confirm, and we could not find a randomised controlled trial.

What the product is made of

The PDLLA in the name refers to polylactic acid — a polymer of lactic acid — with its two isomers, the D form and the L form, mixed 50:50. These fine spherical particles are suspended in hyaluronic acid and injected.

The intended use published by the manufacturer reads: “injection of polylactide and hyaluronic acid into the subcutis to temporarily improve facial wrinkles in adults through physical restoration”. The wording is stiff, but the words to notice are temporarily and physical restoration. The approved wording is written around physically taking up space, not around making collagen.

In the body, two things actually happen, and they happen at different times. The hyaluronic acid occupies space from the moment it goes in and then disappears over some months, while the PDLLA particles stay and stimulate fibroblasts. So the change you see just after treatment and the change you see some months later have different causes. That structure is worth knowing about — around two to three weeks in, it is possible to feel that things look worse than they did at the start, and that is the stretch where the hyaluronic acid is leaving, not a failure.

Where it stands among the existing boosters

Our reference library sorts boosters into five branches by material. Setting PDLLA alongside them gives this.

The branches, sorted by material
BranchProductWhat it does in the body
Liquid PCLGOURISpreads without particles and stimulates collagen
PNRejuranA salmon-DNA-derived material that acts on the environment for repair
hADMRe2O · CellREDMPuts the matrix components that make up skin in directly
CaHARadiesse · DCLASSYParticles give support while stimulating collagen
Cross-linked HABYRYZNPuts a water-holding substance in directly
PDLLAJuvelookFine spherical particles stimulate collagen + hyaluronic acid fills the early stretch

By purpose it sits in the same column as liquid PCL and CaHA. All three are on the side of “make my own collagen”, and what separates them is what the material is, what shape the particles take, and how long they stay. Which is why a line like “with Juvelook you do not need anything else” does not hold up. A face that needs filling needs something that fills; skin that has thinned needs something that stimulates; and only within that does choosing the material become the question.

How it differs from Sculptra

This is the question we are asked most. Both are lactic acid polymers and so belong to the same broad branch, but the isomer composition and the look of the particles differ.

PLLA and PDLLA
 Sculptra (PLLA)Juvelook (PDLLA)
IsomerL form onlyD form · L form, 50:50
Particle shapeNon-spherical, rough surfaceSpherical, smooth surface
Particle sizeAbout 80µmAbout 30µm
FormulationFreeze-dried powder — must be reconstituted in water before useSupplied together with hyaluronic acid

That much is fact. The explanation usually attached next — that particles which are smaller and smoother strike the body as less foreign, so the foreign-body response is smaller — is an inference drawn from the properties of the material, not the result of a trial that put the two products side by side in people. We could not find any such comparative study.

So nobody is in a position to answer “which of the two is better” at present. What can be answered goes as far as “what is different, and how”.

What has been published in people

Searching under the product name turns up not very much.

The most substantial item is a study of the tear trough. Juvelook was injected in Korean women and assessed at 1 week, 1 month and 6 months; improvement and satisfaction were good and no serious complication occurred, the paper reports. There are things to hold alongside it when reading, though — the abstract does not state how many people took part, there is no comparison group, and follow-up runs to 6 months. The author list also mixes private practitioners, in Korea and abroad, with a training institute for the procedure.

Beyond that, what we could confirm amounts to a case report observing tissue change on ultrasound. A case report is a record that “this happened”; it is not the kind of material used as evidence of effect.

We could not find a randomised controlled trial. That is common with a product this new, and is not in itself a mark against it. But if you have been told something is “clinically proven”, it is worth asking what exactly that phrase refers to.

Nodules — what has actually been reported

A nodule case has also been published for the same product. A 42-year-old woman was given Juvelook under the eye and three weeks later developed a firm but non-inflamed nodule; the report sets out how it was treated with a radiofrequency device.

Two things are worth marking here.

First, the authors of the paper reporting the effect and the paper reporting the nodule overlap. How to read that is this — the same group published both the good result and the problem, and the right reading is as a sign that nothing was hidden.

Second, nodules are not a new story in the collagen-stimulating family. We have written the same item into our Radiesse and DCLASSY references. And they are reported particularly in places like under the eye, where the skin is thin and the muscle covering it is thin too. The site changes the risk.

There is one more difference that matters. There is no drug that dissolves PDLLA. Of the products we hold, only the cross-linked hyaluronic acid, BYRYZN, can be reversed with hyaluronidase; the rest — liquid PCL, CaHA and PDLLA — have nothing that reverses them. So you should start knowing that this is a family where “if it looks wrong we can just dissolve it” does not apply.

When to get in touch rather than wait — when something firm can be felt at the injection site and is growing, when it is red, painful or hot, when the area under the eye shows through as uneven. Nodules do sometimes settle on their own with time, but the sooner they are dealt with the more options there are. Contact the clinic that treated you first.

How to read the numbers

The manufacturer's website carries a number along the lines of 52025-I10-32-3606. That number is a mark that the medical advertising passed pre-review; it is not a product licence number. A number with several hyphens running past ten digits is, as a rule, an advertising-review number. A product licence number is shorter than that and begins with one of the Korean device prefixes (romanised, jeoheo or jesu). We went through this distinction in detail in “Is this product approved by the MFDS?”.

To put it plainly: we could not confirm Juvelook's product licence number. The manufacturer has not written it into its public material, and we did not find it within the range we searched. What we could confirm is that it is distributed in Korea classified as a medical device under ‘tissue restoration material’, and no further.

We could not confirm US FDA approval either. The overseas sales pages we looked at listed the European CE mark and the Korean MFDS, and nothing else. If you have seen the phrase “FDA approved”, it is worth checking what it is approval for.

The things that still have no answer

How long it lasts. The figure of 12 to 18 months circulates widely online. We could not trace where that figure comes from. Follow-up in the study above runs to 6 months. This is exactly why, in our piece on sessions and duration, we write a number of months for some products and leave it blank for others — where there is no basis, we do not write one.

How many sessions are needed. We could not find a standard protocol in the public material.

Whether it can be combined with other treatments. We could not find a study looking at it alongside another booster or a radiofrequency device. This is not particular to Juvelook: the data on combination as a whole are thin.

If somewhere answers all three of these with confidence, it is worth asking where those answers come from.

In summary

Juvelook is a product with an uncommon combination for a skin booster — PDLLA microspheres plus hyaluronic acid. That the filling part early on and the stimulating part later are split between two components is its structural feature.

At the same time, the published human data are still thin, a nodule under the eye has been reported, and it belongs to the family with no reversal agent. That is not to say a new product is a bad one; it is to say that this is where the line falls, at this point, between what can and cannot be said.

We take the view that what your face needs now matters more than how new a product is. A face that needs filling and a face that has thinned are different, and only once that is sorted does choosing the material become the question.

Frequently asked questions

Is Juvelook a filler or a booster?

It carries something of both. The hyaluronic acid it contains takes up space immediately, as a filler does, and disappears over some months, while the PDLLA particles stay and stimulate collagen production. Under the Korean classification it is a medical device, a ‘tissue restoration material’, and the intended use stated by the manufacturer is likewise temporary improvement of wrinkles through physical restoration. What people actually come to expect from it, though, is more often the collagen-stimulating part that comes later.

Which is better, Sculptra or Juvelook?

The published material does not allow an answer. We could not find a trial putting the two products side by side in people. The differences that can be confirmed go as far as the material (PLLA versus PDLLA), the shape and size of the particles (non-spherical at about 80µm versus spherical at about 30µm), and the formulation (a powder to be reconstituted, or supplied together with hyaluronic acid). The explanation that smaller, smoother particles provoke less of a response is an inference drawn from the properties of the material, not the result of a comparative trial.

When does the effect start to show?

Two timepoints have to be kept apart. What you see immediately after the injection is the hyaluronic acid that went in with it taking up space, and that leaves over some months. The collagen side takes time. So around two to three weeks in there can be a stretch where things look worse than they did at first, and that is not the point at which to judge it. The published study assessed at 1 month and 6 months.

How long does it last?

The figure of 12 to 18 months is everywhere online, but we could not trace where it comes from. Follow-up in the study we could confirm runs to 6 months. How long it lasts turns not only on the product but on age, the condition of the skin and things like sun exposure, which makes a single figure in months hard to write down.

I have heard that nodules occur — is that dangerous?

There is a reported case. A 42-year-old woman was injected under the eye and developed a firm but non-inflamed nodule three weeks later; the case was published in a journal. Nodules are a known adverse effect in the collagen-stimulating family, and they are reported particularly in thin-skinned areas such as under the eye. Most can be treated, but if something firm can be felt and is growing, or it is red and painful, contact the clinic that treated you rather than waiting.

If something goes wrong, can it be dissolved?

There is no drug that dissolves PDLLA itself. What hyaluronidase can reverse is the cross-linked hyaluronic acid family, and here that applies only to the hyaluronic acid portion included with it. Liquid PCL and CaHA likewise have no dissolving agent. So this family does not allow the approach of “try it and reverse it if it is not right”, and deciding the site and the amount carefully at the outset matters more.

Can it be injected under the eye?

The published study did look at the area under the eye. But the nodule case came from there as well. Under the eye the skin is thin and the muscle covering it is thin, so the same material can give a different result there, and that overlaps with this being a family with no reversal agent. Deciding the site is a judgement made on individual anatomy as much as on the properties of the product, so it has to be settled in an in-person consultation.

Has the product been approved by the MFDS?

It is distributed in Korea classified as a medical device under ‘tissue restoration material’. The long number on the manufacturer's website, though, is a medical advertising pre-review number rather than a product licence number, and the product licence number itself is something we could not confirm. We could not confirm US FDA approval either. How to tell the numbers apart is set out in our column “Is this product approved by the MFDS?”.

Who wrote this

Written and reviewed by Lee Chi-Hak, MD, medical director of Miso Clinic in Daegu, South Korea. Every study cited above is given together with its design, its size and the limitations the authors themselves recorded, and where we could not find data, we have said that we could not find any.

Miso Clinic
Medical directorLee Chi-Hak, MD
Address4F Bombom Building, 125 Dongdeok-ro, Jung-gu, Daegu, South Korea · Exit 1, Kyungpook National University Hospital Station
Phone+82-53-428-2700
HoursWeekdays 11:00–19:00 (lunch 13:00–14:00) / Saturday 10:00–16:00 (no lunch break) / Closed Sundays and public holidays
ColumnsAll clinical columns
Reference libraryAll booster and device references

References

  1. The study of the tear trough is Wan J et al., J Cosmet Dermatol 2025;24(3):e70058 (Korean women, follow-up at 1 week · 1 month · 6 months, assessed with the Hirmand classification and satisfaction scores). Confirmed from the abstract; the abstract does not state the number of participants, and there is no comparison group. The author affiliations include private practitioners in Korea and abroad along with a training institute for the procedure.
  2. The nodule case is Seo SB, Wan J, Yi KH, J Cosmet Dermatol 2025;24(1):e16575 (42-year-old woman, firm non-inflamed nodule three weeks after injection under the eye, treated with a radiofrequency device). Being a single case report, it is not material that tells you anything about frequency. Its authors overlap in part with those of the efficacy paper above.
  3. One further case report, observing ultrasound findings, could be confirmed, but it too is a single case.
  4. We could not find a randomised controlled trial. Nor could we find a trial comparing the product directly with another (Sculptra or otherwise).
  5. The composition, intended use and manufacturer details were confirmed from the product website published by the manufacturer. The number displayed there is a medical advertising pre-review number, not a product licence number. The product licence number and US FDA approval status are things we could not confirm.
  6. The comparison of particle shape and size between PLLA and PDLLA (non-spherical at about 80µm versus spherical at about 30µm) is quoted from a Korean trade-press article. We were not able to check it against the academic literature, so please read the values as approximate.
  7. That nodules are a known adverse effect in the collagen-stimulating family is the same point we have written into our Radiesse and DCLASSY references.

Everything in this column is general information and does not replace medical diagnosis or treatment. Effects and side effects vary with individual skin condition, age and underlying illness, and the same result is not guaranteed for everyone. Any decision to proceed should be made in an in-person consultation with a physician.

← Clinical columns · Reference library · Miso Clinic home

한국어 · English · 日本語 · 简体中文 · Español · Tiếng Việt · ภาษาไทย · Bahasa Indonesia