GOURI — from the day of the injection to months later
“How many days before I see anything?”, “When does the swelling go down?”, “How long does it last?” — these are the questions most searched for about GOURI. This piece sets those questions out in order of time. Let us state one thing before we start — all the data in humans published anywhere in the world on liquid-form polycaprolactone comes to 33 people in total, and the longest follow-up is 6 months. Which is why there is no sentence such as “it lasts a year” in this piece. We have written only as far as the material that exists allows us to speak.
The conclusion, first
What swells immediately after the injection is not polycaprolactone but water. GOURI is not particles suspended in a gel as microsphere products are; it is an aqueous solution in which the polymer is dispersed as a colloid in water (per the original text of the manufacturer's patent). In a rat experiment the injected bolus dispersed into the surrounding tissue within 6 hours. So what you see change over a few days is not effect but swelling. The earliest time point at which a change is recorded in the literature is 4 weeks (2 patients), and the earliest at which increased collagen was confirmed in tissue is 6 weeks, in animals. Duration has been observed in humans only as far as 6 months (a 30-person pilot). The frequently quoted “9 months” was a figure attached on the basis of general polymer papers, not a clinical trial, and “6–12 months” is the period over which the material degrades, not the period over which the effect is maintained. As for nodules, we found no reports — but with only 33 people observed in humans in the published literature, this is not evidence that they are rare but means that there is no data.
The timeline on one page
| Time point | What happens | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Immediately after injection | Looks raised from the volume of the aqueous solution injected + the swelling of the injection itself. This is not effect | Manufacturer's patent (aqueous formulation) |
| 6 hours | The injected bolus disperses into the surrounding tissue, with no granuloma formation | Rat experiment — not human data |
| Within 48 hours | Local swelling. In both patients reported it resolved in under 48 hours | Case report, 2 people |
| 1–2 weeks | The manufacturer advises that delayed swelling may appear in this period | Manufacturer's guidance — we did not find published figures supporting it |
| 4 weeks | The earliest time point of change recorded in the literature (the point at which photographs were taken) | Case report, 2 people, GAIS mean 3.5 |
| 6 weeks | Significant increase in dermal thickness and type I collagen in tissue (p < 0.001) | Rat photoageing model — not human data |
| 3 months | The last observation point for the 2 case-report patients | Case report, 2 people |
| 6 months | The longest time point observed in humans. “Significant improvement in skin quality and volume” in a 30-person pilot | Pilot, 30 people |
| Beyond 6 months | Never measured | — |
What we confirmed while making this table — what exists in the peer-reviewed literature on liquid-form PCL is five papers in all. Two rat experiments, one human pilot (30 people · 6 months), one case series (2 people · 3 months) and one case report (1 person). The largest number in humans is 30, and the longest follow-up is 6 months. We think that fact itself should be the starting point for judging this procedure.
Immediately after the injection — what is it that is swollen
Microsphere polycaprolactone (the Ellansé family) and the liquid form differ fundamentally in formulation. That difference is covered in detail in it is the same polycaprolactone, so what is different between the liquid form and the microsphere-based form, and here we touch on only the part that affects the passage of time.
| Item | Microsphere PCL | Liquid-form PCL |
|---|---|---|
| Carrier | Particles suspended in a carboxymethylcellulose gel | Water — an amphiphilic block copolymer dispersed as a colloid |
| Initial volume | The gel fills the volume immediately | Being an aqueous solution, it is not designed to fill volume immediately |
| Time for the carrier to disappear | Absorbed over several weeks | Disperses within 6 hours in the rat |
According to the original text of the manufacturer's patent, the composition is a block copolymer of polycaprolactone, a hydrophobic polymer (molecular weight 2,000–25,000 g/mol preferred), and methoxy polyethylene glycol, a hydrophilic polymer, and the copolymer concentration in the aqueous solution of the worked example is 25% by weight. The remainder is water. The patent also explains the mechanism of action directly — once inside the body the structure that had been stably dispersed in water collapses, and the matrix structure formed by the polymers binding to one another induces collagen.
So you should not read the raised look immediately after the procedure as the result. That is the water that was put in plus the swelling from the injection, and it disappears within a day or two. Nor does its disappearing mean the procedure did not work — with this product it is what comes after that is the beginning.
We do note, though. The “6 hours” is rat data and cannot be transposed to humans as it stands. We did not find data measuring the time for the carrier to be absorbed in humans. And there is no guarantee that the composition in the patent is the same as the approved composition of the product on the market — the consumer page gives “PCL 21%”, a different figure from the worked example in the patent.
Swelling and bruising — what has actually been reported
| Source | People | What was reported |
|---|---|---|
| Case series (31G needle, deep dermis, 10 points) | 2 | Swelling in both, under 48 hours (one was prescribed a steroid for 3 days). Bruising 0, palpable or visible lumps 0, discolouration · vascular occlusion · granuloma · infection 0 |
| Pilot (25G cannula, 2 sessions, 6 months) | 30 | “Adverse events were mild and transient, but careful injection technique is recommended to reduce risk” — the individual counts · proportions · durations are in the full text only, and we did not reach the full text |
Two people is not an incidence. You should not read it as anything more than “in 2 of 2, swelling lasting under 48 hours”. And we have not copied across the figures for microsphere PCL here (persistent swelling 4.5% · bruising 2.7% · lumps 0.45%, in 1,111 cases) — because that is data on a product of a different formulation. Those figures are set out in nodules that form after a procedure and in the difference between the liquid form and the microsphere form.
When swelling comes 1–2 weeks later
The manufacturer's guidance says that early swelling occurs within 72 hours and delayed swelling may appear 1–2 weeks later. Searches worrying about swelling in this period do indeed come up in several languages. However, we did not find published material reporting the frequency or duration of this delayed swelling. We set it down noting that it is the manufacturer's guidance.
Needle or cannula — which bruises less
For liquid PCL they have never been compared. The two published studies simply used a 31G needle and a 25G cannula respectively; there is no study comparing the two under the same conditions. “A cannula reduces bruising” is carried across from the received view in the general filler literature. We do not think that received view is wrong, but we do note that it has not been verified for this product. The general difference between needles and cannulas is set out in is Rejuran injected with a needle or a cannula.
When does it start to show — answering honestly
| What was confirmed | Time point | Subject |
|---|---|---|
| Significant increase in dermal thickness · type I collagen | 6 weeks after treatment (p < 0.001, p = 0.003) | Rats, 40 animals, photoageing model |
| Subcutaneous layer thickness increasing over time | Increasing up to 6 weeks after injection | Rats (manufacturer's patent, figures not disclosed) |
| Change recorded photographically | 4 weeks | 2 humans, GAIS mean 3.5 |
| Human biopsy | Does not exist — we did not find a single piece of human tissue data on liquid PCL | |
So our answer is this. What you see over a few days is not effect but swelling. The earliest time point at which a change is recorded in the literature is 4 weeks, and the earliest at which increased collagen was confirmed in tissue is 6 weeks, in animals. The manufacturer advises “first change within 1–2 weeks”, but we did not find published measurements supporting this. How to set the point at which to judge a procedure is written about in more detail in when results actually start to appear, and when you should judge them.
For reference, there is human biopsy data for microsphere PCL — in a study in which 0.5 cc was injected once into the dermis of 13 people with biopsies at 2 weeks · 1 year · 4 years, temple skin thickness at 1 year had increased by 26.74% ± 9.26% (1,412 → 1,781 µm, p < 0.001 — this percentage is the mean of the individual increases and so differs slightly from the ratio of the two mean values), and fibroblasts · giant cells · new capillaries · new collagen were observed around the PCL particles. Being data on a product of a different formulation, it cannot be carried across to the liquid form as it stands.
How long does it last — three numbers that must be distinguished
| What is being measured | What is known about liquid PCL |
|---|---|
| (1) The improvement actually observed | Up to 6 months in humans (a 30-person pilot). Beyond that it has never been measured |
| (2) The period over which the material degrades | Manufacturer's guidance, 6–12 months — this is the degradation period of the material, not the duration of the effect |
| (3) The duration the manufacturer states | “An average of 9 months” in a trade article — the three references that article attaches as its basis are all general polymer papers and not clinical trials of GOURI |
Reading (2) and (3) as if they were (1) is the most common misunderstanding. The time it takes for a material to degrade in the body and the period over which you look better in the mirror are different stories. There is no material connecting the two ideas. The sentence “PCL degrades over 6–12 months, so the effect lasts that long too” is a leap of logic.
The manufacturer's consumer page also contains the statement that “phase 1 and phase 2 clinical trials have been completed and over 200 people took part”. We did not find the paper · abstract · trial registration number for that 200-person study anywhere. This does not mean it does not exist; it means there is no way to confirm it publicly.
If you have seen the figure “1 year” or “2 years”, that is usually data on microsphere PCL (Ellansé) — on that side there is a 24-month randomised trial and a 4-year biopsy. It is the same polycaprolactone but a product of a different formulation, and the data cannot be carried across between them.
Nodules — finding no reports and their not occurring are different things
Within the range we searched, we did not find a single case reporting a nodule or granuloma with liquid PCL. On the contrary, there are sources that expressly wrote that there were none.
- Case series (2 people) — “There was no bruising, visible or palpable lumps, discolouration, signs of vascular occlusion, granuloma/nodules or infection”
- Rat experiment (12 weeks) — the injected bolus dispersed within 6 hours and there was no granuloma formation thereafter, with no residual material or foreign-body reaction during the 12-week study period
But you should not read this as “nodules do not occur”. This product is distributed in 45–55 countries, and the number of people observed in the published literature is 33. The number observed is far too small relative to the number exposed. In this situation, “there are no reports” is not evidence of rarity but means there is no data, and calculating an incidence is itself impossible. This is the principle we state repeatedly on this site — “it has not been reported” and “it does not occur” are different things.
For microsphere PCL, case reports of delayed-onset nodules do in fact exist — a case treated under ultrasound guidance, a case of delayed hypersensitivity after COVID-19 vaccination and others have been published, and in a series of 1,111 cases lumps were reported at 0.45%. The manufacturer and conference presentations put forward the mechanistic logic that “because there are no particles, the risk of nodules formed by particles clumping is low”. It is a biologically reasonable hypothesis, but it has not been verified as an incidence in humans.
Where and how it is injected
| Source | Layer | Instrument | Dose · points |
|---|---|---|---|
| Case series | Deep dermis | 31G needle | 10 points on the face, 0.2 mL per point, 2 mL in total, 2 sessions at 4-week intervals |
| Pilot, 30 people | Not stated in the abstract | 25G cannula | 2 sessions, 6 months |
| Manufacturer's patent (rats) | Subcutaneous layer | — | 250 µL |
| Manufacturer's guidance | Dermis or below the dermis | — | 10 points for the whole face (5 per side), 2 points for the periocular area alone |
By design the target is the dermis to the dermal-subcutaneous junction. Unlike microsphere products, which create volume in the subcutaneous layer, the liquid form is made to spread widely through a shallow layer. Being a homogeneous aqueous solution with no particles, the needle does not block and there is no question of the suspension being uneven, is the explanation given in the development paper.
There is, however, a point where the numbers do not agree with one another. The case series used 0.2 mL per point for a total of 2 mL, while the manufacturer advises one 1 mL syringe over 10 points for the whole face, which comes to 0.1 mL per point. A twofold difference. And not one paper states the spacing between points in centimetres. It is more accurate to regard this as an area where there is as yet no standard.
What DEXLEVO and GOURI are
Since the search “GOURI DEXLEVO” comes up, we will set this out. They are not two different procedures but the relationship between a company and a product.
- DEXLEVO — a Korean medical device company founded in 2013
- GOURI — the brand name of the liquid-form PCL product that company makes
- In every market we checked (Europe · Australia · Singapore · Taiwan · Korea) the brand name is the same, GOURI — the name does not differ from country to country
- There is a separate topical ampoule product under the same brand. It is a different item from the injectable, so please do not confuse the two
On the regulatory history, press reporting indicates that it first obtained the European CE mark · Australian · Singaporean certifications, and obtained Korean MFDS approval during 2025. Taiwan was in May 2026. An article from March 2025 refers to it only as “CE-certified, for export”, so the structure appears to be that the export-only approval came first and the domestic one was attached later. How domestic and export-only approvals differ is set out in what is different between domestic and export-only.
How to check the approval number — we could not find it either
We will write this honestly. In writing this piece we were unable to obtain the original text of GOURI's Korean marketing approval number · item name · intended use. Both the MFDS electronic civil application window and the integrated information system block automated lookups, and access to the manufacturer's Korean site was blocked as well. Nor did a web search turn up a page stating the approval number. We confirmed from press reporting that a domestic approval exists, but we were not able to confirm the original text of the number.
So this is what you can do.
- Look at the product box. Article 20 of the Medical Devices Act places on the manufacturer · importer a duty to write the approval number on the container or outer packaging. If the product came through normal distribution, the number is on the box.
- You may also ask the clinic. “Please tell me the product's approval number” is an entirely normal verification step.
- Once you have the number, look it up with no spaces on the MFDS medical device information portal and check that the “Export only” field in the detailed information reads “No”. The whole method of checking is in what one line of approval number can and cannot tell you.
Searching by brand name generally returns nothing. That is because the “product name” field in the MFDS database is empty for many items — including perfectly normal domestic products. Always look it up by approval number.
Common practice for which we did not find evidence
| Practice · claim | The state of the evidence as we confirmed it |
|---|---|
| “A series of 3 sessions at 3–4-week intervals” | This is the manufacturer's recommended protocol. There is no clinical evidence comparing 1 session with 3, and the two published studies differ from each other, one using 2 sessions at 4-week intervals (the 2-patient case report) and the other 2 sessions (the 30-person pilot — the interval was not disclosed) |
| “Maintenance 1–2 times a year” | There is no material verifying the need for it or the interval |
| “First change in 1–2 weeks” | This is the manufacturer's guidance. We did not find published material that measured it |
| “Lasts an average of 9 months” | The references cited are only general polymer papers and not clinical trials |
| “No particles, so no nodules” | A mechanistically reasonable hypothesis, but it has not been verified as an incidence in humans. The total number of people observed in humans in the published literature is 33 |
| “A cannula bruises less” | This is the received view in the general filler literature and it has never been compared for liquid PCL |
| Spacing between points (1.5 cm, 2 cm and so on) | It is not stated in any paper |
| Massage · cold packs · restriction of exercise after the procedure | We found no evidence at all relating to liquid PCL |
In summary — what is confirmed, what we could not confirm
| Confirmed | The peer-reviewed literature on liquid PCL is five papers, with a maximum of 30 people in humans and a longest follow-up of 6 months · the carrier is water, not a gel (manufacturer's patent) · in rats the injected bolus dispersed within 6 hours, with no granuloma and no residual material over 12 weeks · in a rat photoageing model, significant increase in dermal thickness · type I collagen at 6 weeks · in the 2 case-report patients, swelling under 48 hours, bruising in 0 · significant improvement at the 6-month point in a 30-person pilot · DEXLEVO is the company and GOURI the product, and the brand name does not differ by country |
|---|---|
| Could not confirm | The Korean marketing approval number · the original text of the intended use (access to the MFDS database is blocked) · the 30-person pilot's individual adverse event counts · incidence · durations (failed to access the full text — this is the largest human safety data set in existence) · the paper · registration number of the “phase 1 · phase 2, over 200 people” trial the manufacturer speaks of · the actual label composition of the marketed product (the patent's 25% by weight differs from the consumer-facing 21%) · the time for the carrier to be absorbed in humans · human biopsy (it does not exist) · the frequency of delayed swelling |
| Contrary · cautionary material | “No reports of nodules” means that with 33 people observed an incidence cannot be calculated, not that it is safe · for microsphere PCL, delayed-onset nodule cases do in fact exist · in the method of injection, the dose per point differs twofold between the literature and the manufacturer's guidance |
What we most want to say in this piece is neither “do not have it” nor “have it”. It is that this is a procedure you look at from a month later rather than the day after, and that the period the material we now have actually watched is 6 months. Start knowing those two things and there is less chance of expectation and outcome diverging. And if you have been told at some clinic that “it lasts a year”, you are entitled to ask where that number comes from.
Frequently asked questions
How many days before GOURI shows an effect?
What you see over a few days is not effect but swelling. This product is an aqueous solution, so the raised look immediately after the injection is the water that was put in plus the swelling from the injection. The earliest time point at which a change is recorded in the literature is 4 weeks (2 patients), and the earliest at which increased collagen was confirmed in tissue is 6 weeks, in animals. The manufacturer advises 1–2 weeks, but we did not find published material that measured it.
My face is swollen after the procedure. Is that normal?
In the reported material, both patients had local swelling lasting under 48 hours which settled on its own (one took a steroid for 3 days). The manufacturer advises that early swelling occurs within 72 hours and that delayed swelling may appear 1–2 weeks later. However, we did not find published material reporting the frequency of delayed swelling. If the swelling is severe on one side only, or is red and painful, or is growing, you should tell the clinic where you had the procedure.
Does it bruise a lot?
In the 2 reported cases there was no bruising. But 2 people is not an incidence. There is no study of liquid PCL comparing needle and cannula for bruising rates — the two published studies simply used a 31G needle and a 25G cannula respectively. “A cannula bruises less” is the received view in the general filler literature and has not been verified for this product.
How long does it last?
The longest time point observed in humans is 6 months (a 30-person pilot). Beyond that it has never been measured. The commonly seen “average of 9 months” is a figure attached on the basis of general polymer papers rather than a clinical trial, and “6–12 months” is the period over which the material degrades, not the period over which the effect is maintained. If you have seen “1 year” or “2 years”, that is usually data on microsphere PCL (Ellansé).
Can nodules occur?
We did not find a single case reporting a nodule with liquid PCL. But you should not read that as “they do not occur” — with only 33 people observed in humans in the published literature, calculating an incidence is itself impossible. “It has not been reported” and “it does not occur” are different things. For reference, delayed-onset nodule cases have in fact been published for microsphere PCL.
Where is it injected?
The dermis to the junction below the dermis is the target layer by design. Unlike microsphere products, which create volume in the subcutaneous layer, the liquid form is made to spread widely through a shallow layer. In the published case report it was placed over 10 points on the face (5 per side), and the manufacturer's guidance gives the same number of points. However, the dose per point differs twofold between the literature (0.2 mL) and the manufacturer's guidance (0.1 mL), and not one paper states the spacing between points.
Are GOURI and DEXLEVO different procedures?
No. It is the relationship between a company and a product. DEXLEVO is a Korean medical device company founded in 2013, and GOURI is the brand name of the liquid-form PCL product that company makes. In every market we checked the brand name is the same, GOURI. Note, though, that there is a separate topical ampoule product under the same brand, so do not confuse it with the injectable.
How many sessions should I have?
No standard has been settled. The manufacturer recommends 3 sessions at 3–4-week intervals, but there is no clinical evidence comparing 1 session with 3. The two published studies also differ from each other, using 2 sessions at 4-week intervals (the 2-patient case report) and 2 sessions (the 30-person pilot, interval not disclosed). For “maintenance 1–2 times a year” too, there is no material verifying the need for it or the interval.
How do I check GOURI's approval number?
Looking at the product box is the surest way. Article 20 of the Medical Devices Act requires the approval number to be written on the container or outer packaging. Asking the clinic “please tell me the product's approval number” is also a normal step. Once you have the number, look it up with no spaces on the MFDS medical device information portal and check that “Export only” reads “No”. Searching by brand name generally returns nothing — you must look it up by number.
So are you telling me not to have this procedure?
No. The 30-person pilot reported significant improvement in skin quality and volume out to the 6-month point, and the rat experiments confirmed increased dermal thickness and collagen. What we are saying is that you should set your expectations to match the material — this is a procedure you look at from a month later rather than the day after, and the period the material we now have watched is 6 months. Start knowing those two things and there is less chance of expectation and outcome diverging.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by Lee Chi-Hak, MD, medical director of Miso Clinic in Daegu, South Korea. Every study cited above is given together with its design, its size and the limitations the authors themselves recorded, and where we could not find data, we have said that we could not find any.
| Medical director | Lee Chi-Hak, MD |
|---|---|
| Address | 4F Bombom Building, 125 Dongdeok-ro, Jung-gu, Daegu, South Korea · Exit 1, Kyungpook National University Hospital Station |
| Phone | +82-53-428-2700 |
| Hours | Weekdays 11:00–19:00 (lunch 13:00–14:00) / Saturday 10:00–16:00 (no lunch break) / Closed Sundays and public holidays |
| Columns | All clinical columns |
| Reference library | All booster and device references |
References
- The whole peer-reviewed literature on liquid PCL (five papers) — (1) Hong JY et al., In vivo evaluation of novel particle-free polycaprolactone fillers … in a rat model, Dermatologic Therapy 2021;34(2):e14770, PMID 33421287 (rats, 12 weeks) (2) Seo J et al., Liquid-Form Polycaprolactone Injection Enhances Dermal Thickness and Collagen Production in UVB-Induced Photoaging Skin, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2026, doi:10.1111/jocd.70950 (40 rats, 6 weeks after treatment) (3) Ponzo M et al., Pilot Study: Efficacy and Safety of Polycaprolactone Collagen Stimulator for Middle Third of the Face, PRS Global Open 2025;13(11), PMID 41210393 (30 humans, 6 months) (4) A Clinical Case Series: Australian Validation of Liquid Polycaprolactone Injectables, Annals of Case Reports 2023;8(4) (2 humans, 3 months) (5) Dimonitsas M et al., Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2025, doi:10.1111/jocd.16713 (1 human). The maximum number in humans is 30 and the longest follow-up is 6 months.
- Dispersal at 6 hours · no granuloma — Hong 2021, original text of the abstract: “Filler nodules dispersed to surrounding tissues within 6 hours without further granuloma formation.” No residual material or foreign-body reaction during the 12-week study period. This is rat data and cannot be transposed to humans as it stands. We were not able to confirm the figures at each time point, having failed to access the journal.
- Increased collagen at 6 weeks — Seo 2026, the substance of the original abstract: 40 Wistar rats, photoageing induced by 4 weeks of UVB at 750 mJ/cm², then three groups (no treatment · distilled water · liquid PCL, 10 animals each). Dermal thickness measured by Masson trichrome staining at 6 weeks after treatment — the liquid PCL group significantly thicker than the no-injection and distilled water groups (p < 0.001, p = 0.003). Type I collagen protein level restored to that of the normal control group, with a significant increase in collagen density (p < 0.001). Because 6 weeks was the only measurement point, this does not mean “there was nothing before 6 weeks”.
- The 30-person human pilot — Ponzo 2025. 25G cannula, 2 sessions, 6 months of follow-up. “Significant improvement in skin quality and volume, high patient satisfaction”, adverse events “mild and transient”. We did not reach the full text and so were not able to confirm the individual adverse event counts · proportions · durations, the efficacy figures at each time point, the injection layer, or the dose per point. The adverse event table in this paper is the largest human safety data set currently in existence for liquid PCL.
- The 2-person case report — Annals of Case Reports 2023. 31G needle, deep dermis, 10 points × 0.2 mL, 2 sessions at 4-week intervals, photographs before the procedure · at 4 weeks · at 3 months, GAIS mean 3.5 (rated by the patients themselves and by 2 independent practitioners). Swelling was “temporary (i.e., less than 48 hours) of localised swelling”, with one patient on prednisolone 10 mg/day for 3 days. Original text: “There was no bruising, visible or palpable lumps, discolouration, signs of vascular occlusion, granuloma/nodules or infection.” Being 2 people, it cannot be cited as an incidence.
- The formulation — the original text of the manufacturer's patent — DexLevo Inc., US patent application US 2019/0358363 A1, Composition For Tissue Repair Treatment And Method For Manufacturing The Same. Hydrophobic polymer = polycaprolactone (molecular weight 1,000–30,000, 2,000–25,000 g/mol preferred), hydrophilic polymer = methoxy polyethylene glycol. The composition of worked example 3 = mPEG2000-PCL5000 copolymer 25% by weight, HLB 5.7. Copolymer concentration in the aqueous solution 10–50% by weight. The substance of the mechanism in the original text — after injection into the body the hydrophobic polymer collapses the stably dispersed structure in the aqueous solution, and the matrix structure formed by the polymers binding to one another induces collagen. The rat experiment used 250 µL subcutaneously in 6-week-old SD rats, with assessment immediately after and at 1 · 2 · 4 · 6 weeks, subcutaneous layer thickness increasing over time up to 6 weeks (there is no table of figures in the body of the patent). There is no guarantee that the composition in the patent is the same as the approved composition of the marketed product — the consumer page gives “PCL 21%”, a different figure.
- Human biopsy of microsphere PCL (a product of a different formulation — for comparison only) — Aesthetic Surgery Journal 2019;39(12):NP484, PMID 30778526. 13 people, 0.5 cc once into the dermis, biopsies at 2 weeks · 1 year · 4 years. Temple skin thickness at 1 year increased 26.74% ± 9.26% (1,412.41 → 1,781.11 µm, p < 0.001), facial skin thickness by ultrasound increased 21.31% ± 4.34%. Original text: “Around PCL particles, many fibroblasts, giant cells, new capillaries, new collagen, and elastic fibers were found.” It cannot be carried across to the liquid form as it stands.
- Delayed-onset nodule cases with microsphere PCL (for comparison only) — Shekarriz et al., Clinical Case Reports 2022;10(11):e6646 (treatment under ultrasound guidance); Kalantari et al., Clinical Case Reports 2022;10(1):e5343 (delayed hypersensitivity after COVID-19 vaccination). We did not find cases of this kind with the liquid form.
- The manufacturer's claims and their basis — the trade article's “The average duration of the results is 9 months” attaches three general polymer papers as references and is not a clinical trial of GOURI. The manufacturer's consumer page's “It usually takes 6-12 months for the PCL to get degraded in the body” is the degradation period of the material, not the duration of the effect. As to the same page's “Phase-1 · Phase-2 clinical trials which included over 200 people”, we did not find the paper · abstract · trial registration number anywhere. The procedure protocol (10 points for the whole face, 3 sessions at 3–4-week intervals then maintenance 1–2 times a year) is likewise a manufacturer recommendation with no comparative clinical evidence.
- DEXLEVO and GOURI — DEXLEVO Inc. is a Korean medical device company founded in 2013, and GOURI is that company's liquid-form PCL brand. The research code name is DLMR01. The brand name is the same in every market we checked (European CE · Australia · Singapore · Taiwan · Korea). The topical ampoule product under the same brand is a separate item. The regulatory history, per press reporting — after CE · Australian · Singaporean certification, Korean MFDS approval during 2025, and Taiwan in May 2026. At the date of the March 2025 article it is referred to only as “CE-certified, for export”, so the structure appears to be that the export-only approval came first and the domestic one was attached later — this is inferred from the dates of the reporting and not confirmed from an original document.
- What we were not able to confirm — (1) the Korean marketing approval number · item name · the original text of the intended use · whether the domestic and export-only approvals are separate (the MFDS electronic civil application window · the integrated information system · the manufacturer's Korean site all block automated lookups) (2) the full text of the 30-person pilot (the adverse event table · the figures at each time point · the injection layer · the dose per point) (3) the figures at each time point in the 12-week rat study (4) the substance of the 200-person trial the manufacturer speaks of (5) the actual label composition of the marketed product (6) the time for the carrier to be absorbed in humans (7) human biopsy (it does not exist) (8) the frequency and duration of delayed swelling (9) what the “KOPAC” that appears in the search terms refers to.
- We have not put prices in this piece. The Miso Clinic website does not give the prices of procedures.
- The content of this piece is as of 4 September 2026. Product information and approval details change, so before a procedure please check the approval number of the product used directly with the clinic.
Everything in this column is general information and does not replace medical diagnosis or treatment. Effects and side effects vary with individual skin condition, age and underlying illness, and the same result is not guaranteed for everyone. Any decision to proceed should be made in an in-person consultation with a physician.
← Clinical columns · Reference library · Miso Clinic home
한국어 · English · 日本語 · 简体中文 · Español · Tiếng Việt · ภาษาไทย · Bahasa Indonesia