Nodules that form after a procedure — how common, when they appear, and what we do
After an injection procedure we sometimes hear “there is something I can feel”. Most of it is the kind that goes away within a few days, and rarely there is a reaction of a different character that appears some months later. We have written down how common it is, when it appears, what separates one kind from another, and what we do when one appears, with incidence figures and sources attached.
The conclusion, first
Nodules are rare. Looking at the data that have a denominator, this is how it stands — in a single-centre study that retrospectively reviewed 2,139 patients given hyaluronic acid filler, delayed-onset nodules were 7 cases, 0.33%. In a skin-booster type product put into the dermis a little at a time (131 patients) it was 1 case, 0.8%, and the time of onset was day 122. For polycaprolactone preparations, a retrospective study following 780 patients · 1,111 treatments over 3 years found 0 cases each of nodule · granuloma · infection · intravascular injection. The timing separates the character. What can be felt from immediately after the procedure to within 2 weeks is for the most part a non-inflammatory lump made by product pooling in one layer, and in a study of 27 patients checked by ultrasound it was all within the fascial layer. By contrast, what appears red and painful beyond 2 weeks, and particularly at around 3 to 4 months, is a delayed reaction of a different character. Most of them get better. Granulomas related to hyaluronic acid are set out as resolving within about 1 year in most cases even without treatment, and the resolution rate of poly-L-lactide nodules under conservative management has been reported in several studies at 85 to 95% or more. One thing we should say in advance is that there are effectively no randomised controlled trials in this field. The present order of treatment comes from expert consensus, and so we follow that order while telling you the weight of the evidence along with it.
The numbers first — how common is it
A number with a denominator is better than the word “rare”. We set down what we verified, as it is.
| Preparation · source | Denominator | Nodules occurring |
|---|---|---|
| Polycaprolactone (PCL) 3-year retrospective | 780 patients · 1,111 treatments | 0 cases |
| Hyaluronic acid single-centre retrospective | 2,139 patients | 7 cases · 0.33% |
| Hyaluronic acid dermal injection type (skin-booster type) | 131 patients | 1 case · 0.8% (day 122) |
| Hyaluronic acid granuloma overall | — | 0.02 to 0.4% |
| CaHA face | 4 controlled trials | 1 to 3 cases per study |
| CaHA back of the hand | 112 patients | 7 cases · 6.2% (all mild) |
| PLLA 2009 registration trial | 116 patients | 20 cases · 17.2% (reconstituted with 5 mL) |
| PLLA 2023 registration trial | 97 patients | 1 case · 1.0% (reconstituted with 9 mL) |
Two things stand out.
First, in the PCL data covering 1,111 treatments there were 0 nodules. The same study reported persistent oedema 4.5%, bruising 2.7% and a temporarily palpable lump 0.45%, so it was not a study that fails to count adverse events. But because these are single-centre retrospective data, “it was not reported” and “it does not happen” are different things.
Second, that the 17.2% for PLLA came down to 1.0% is not because the product changed but because the way of reconstituting it changed. It came about as what had been reconstituted with 5 mL was diluted amply to 9 mL. In one randomised comparison (150 patients) it was 1.3% at a dilution volume of 10 to 12 mL and 8% with the standard protocol. It means this is a risk that can be lowered by technique, and this is why we dilute generously.
The timing separates the character
Even for the same “something I can feel”, it is an entirely different thing depending on when it appeared. The literature generally divides it into three periods.
| Timing | Character | How it looks |
|---|---|---|
| Hours to a few days | Technical · non-inflammatory | Product pooled in one spot. Not red or painful |
| 3 to 4 days to 2 weeks | Inflammatory · suggestive of infection | Redness · warmth · tenderness · swelling |
| Beyond 2 weeks to some months | Delayed reaction | Had settled down, then swells and hardens again |
The commonest time of onset for a delayed reaction is 3 to 4 months after injection. And an interesting seasonality has been reported — up to 71% of delayed reactions occurred between September and December. It overlaps with the season when viral infections increase.
That said, the timing does not separate them 100%. Among delayed reactions, cases appearing within 24 hours of injection have been reported. So the timing is the first clue, not the conclusion.
What is felt early on — where does it pool
The lump felt immediately after a procedure has long been explained as “because it was put in too superficially”. But as a study that checked the actual location by ultrasound came out, the explanation has changed a little.
Schelke LW et al., Dermatologic Surgery 2023;49(6):588 — 27 patients with non-inflammatory nodules were observed with 18 MHz ultrasound.
In all 27 patients the nodule was within the fascial layer. In 14 cases it was confined to the fascia, in 8 it extended into the subcutis, and in 5 there were findings of the product having migrated.
That is, rather than “because it was superficial”, the mechanism is closer to the layer having been taken wrongly so that it pooled inside the fascia, or the product having travelled along the path made by the needle · cannula. So this kind is neither red nor painful, and is only palpable.
What we do at this stage
- Massage — it works best early on. Normal saline or lidocaine in the same amount as was injected is sometimes used along with it
- Watchful waiting — if it is small and in the course of settling, it is better not to touch it
- Hyaluronidase if it is a hyaluronic acid preparation — it can be dissolved and reversed. This is the great advantage of the hyaluronic acid family
- If it persists, aspiration with a 21G needle or removal through a small incision
The polycaprolactone · polylactide families do not dissolve with hyaluronidase. It is because the enzyme acts only on hyaluronic acid. So for this family the layer and the amount at the time of the first injection matter more, and it is also the reason we tell you the layer before we put anything in.
What arises some months later — what is the trigger
There are cases where a site that had settled down suddenly swells and hardens anywhere from 2 weeks to some months later. It is rare, but this is the side that actually needs attention.
As to the cause, three hypotheses are put forward together — ① the physicochemical structure of the product ② infection · biofilm ③ a change in the host's immune balance. They are taken to be not mutually exclusive but to work in an overlapping way.
The biofilm story — even when the culture is negative
There is one decisive piece of data here.
Bjarnsholt T et al., Dermatologic Surgery 2009;35(Suppl 2):1620 — tissue from long-persisting nodules whose cultures had come back negative was re-examined by Gram stain and fluorescence in situ hybridisation (FISH).
Bacteria were detected in 7 of 8 patients. The bacteria were not scattered but present in the form of aggregates inside the gel and in the tissue between.
The reason this matters is that it means one must not conclude “the culture is negative, so it is not an infection”. A swab rubbed over the surface does not catch bacteria embedded within the tissue, and if antibiotics are used before the specimen is taken, the bacteria will not grow in culture.
Why the bacteria remain has been shown experimentally as well — when a needle passes several times through a contaminated surface, contamination of the product increased 10,000-fold (p<0.001). This is why removing make-up completely, not finishing with alcohol alone, and not passing back and forth many times with one needle actually mean something.
Triggering factors
It is set out that viral infections such as a cold or influenza, dental treatment and other invasive procedures can be a trigger. The recommendation to put off dental treatment for about 2 weeks after a procedure comes from here.
That said, a trial or cohort validating the figure of “2 weeks” we did not find. It is the consensus wording of a 4-member expert panel. Even so, it is a measure that costs nothing, so we include it in our guidance.
The order we follow when one appears
The consensus algorithms from several countries agree in broad outline. The order is this.
- We look at the size and the character. If it is small and in the course of settling, we watch it. If it is over 0.5 cm, painful, red and not improving, we go to the next step
- We feel whether there is a soft, fluctuant quality. If there is, we check by ultrasound, incise and drain it and send a culture. If it is hard, we consider a biopsy
- We use antibiotics first. What the consensus documents place first is antibiotics. A macrolide or a tetracycline is used for 2 weeks and the response is watched
- If it is a hyaluronic acid preparation, after starting antibiotics we use hyaluronidase
- If it still remains, we consider an intralesional steroid
- Systemic steroids are restricted to very severe cases
Why we do not use hyaluronidase first
There is a reason we do not dissolve straight away when infection is suspected. The product labelling states that it is not to be used when there is an active infection (cellulitis) — because breaking down hyaluronic acid removes the tissue's barrier to diffusion, so that the infection may spread to the surroundings.
To add it honestly, clinical comparative data showing that hyaluronidase actually spread an infection we did not find. The grounds are these three: ① the contraindication wording on the product label ② the pharmacological mechanism ③ expert consensus. So what has been agreed is not “absolutely contraindicated” but “after antibiotics have been started first”.
That the doses are not standardised
This part is better known than not. It differs from source to source.
| Agent | Recommendation by source |
|---|---|
| Intralesional triamcinolone | 10 mg/mL · 10 to 20 mg/mL · 5 to 10 mg/mL · stepwise 10→20→40 mg/mL — different in every consensus document |
| Hyaluronidase | 30 to 300 units per nodule (a 10-fold range) · 150 U/mL · 6 times at 3 to 5 day intervals — no standard |
| Systemic steroid | 0.5 to 0.75 mg/kg/day tapered over 7 to 21 days · 1 mg/kg/day for 3 days — wide variation |
There is in fact a survey in Israel that gave 334 injectors the same situation and asked what they would do. 67% chose combination therapy, but the combinations were all over the place, and even the commonest combination came to only 14.7%. The researchers wrote of this that it “demonstrates the ambivalence of the current literature”.
Most of them get better
The question we are asked most often is “will it stay for life”. To give the answer first, no.
| Source | Resolution | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Hyaluronic acid granuloma | Within about 1 year in most cases | Even without treatment |
| Hyaluronic acid granuloma (another source) | All within 2 years | Conservative management |
| PLLA 5-year follow-up | 95% or more | Conservative management |
| PLLA other studies | 96% / 92% / 85% / 85% | Conservative management or massage · steroid |
And most nodules are on the mild side to begin with. In data following adverse events from hyaluronic acid fillers over 5 years, 90% were mild and required no intervention.
These resolution-rate figures do not come from studies with a “no treatment” control group. The authors of the review that collated them also wrote that “because resolution rates vary widely between studies, avoid percentage estimates unless they are specified in the cited literature”. So we use these numbers only as grounds for “most get better”, and we do not tell an individual patient a percentage.
Lowering the risk — what has evidence and what is practice
Here it is accurate to write it out separately.
What has evidence
- Aseptic technique, and in particular not passing repeatedly through a contaminated surface with one needle — a 10,000-fold increase in contamination in an in vitro experiment (p<0.001). It is the only data in this field to have shown the mechanism experimentally
- Not finishing with alcohol alone — alcohol needs reapplication during the procedure and has no residual effect. A chlorhexidine-based agent is recommended alongside it
- Starting with make-up completely removed
- Putting off the procedure if there is an active infection · inflammation — for those with frequent herpes labialis, antiviral prophylaxis is recommended
- Using it amply diluted (PLLA) — the 17.2% → 1.0% seen above
Common practice, but we did not find evidence for it
- Avoiding dental treatment for 2 weeks after a procedure — the direction is reasonable, but there are no data validating the figure of “2 weeks”
- Prophylactic antibiotics — they are not recommended anywhere in the five main consensus documents. We do not use them either
- Shaving 3 days beforehand, avoiding contact with tap water after the procedure, the waiting time before resuming make-up — the recommendations themselves are split, from “5 minutes to 24 hours”
- A clinical comparison showing that aseptic technique actually reduced delayed-onset nodules — there is only the in vitro experiment and a survey of injectors' perceptions (61%)
The reason we write it out separately like this is in order to put the effort into the side that has evidence. Doing aseptic technique properly reduces the real risk more than adding to the easy-to-keep practices.
In summary — what is verified, and what is not
What is verified
- Delayed-onset nodules were 0.33% (2,139 patients), the dermal injection type 0.8% (131 patients), and the PCL family 0 cases in 1,111 treatments
- The timing separates the character — within 2 weeks it is for the most part non-inflammatory, after that a different reaction. The commonest timing is 3 to 4 months
- Early nodules were within the fascial layer in all 27 patients
- A negative culture does not mean there is no infection — bacteria were detected in 7 of 8 patients with culture-negative nodules
- Most get better — granulomas within about 1 year in most cases, and 90% of adverse events are mild
- For PLLA, the dilution volume brought 17.2% down to 1.0%
What is not verified
- There are effectively no randomised controlled trials on the treatment of nodules. The present order is expert consensus, and a review states expressly that even intralesional steroids have no specific trial
- The doses of the agents are not standardised — triamcinolone 5 to 40 mg/mL and hyaluronidase 30 to 300 units, differing from source to source
- For the PDLLA family there is no incidence with a denominator at all. The guideline authors were likewise unable to give a figure
- “No adverse effects were reported” and “there are no adverse effects” are different things — the 0 cases for PCL are also single-centre retrospective data
Lastly we ask one thing only. If some months after a procedure something can be felt or swells, please do not pass it off as unrelated to the procedure, and get in touch with us. The timing itself is the first clue to the diagnosis, and seen early it ends far more simply.
The order in which the bruising and swelling of the days right after a procedure pass is written up in The order in which bruising and swelling pass, and the story of the products by family in The things called ‘collagen boosters’.
Frequently asked questions
Do nodules readily form if I have a filler or a booster?
Looking at the data that have a denominator, they are rare. In a single-centre study that retrospectively reviewed 2,139 patients given hyaluronic acid filler, delayed-onset nodules were 7 cases, 0.33%. In a skin-booster type product put into the dermis a little at a time (131 patients) it was 1 case, 0.8%, appearing on day 122. For polycaprolactone preparations, a retrospective study following 780 patients and 1,111 treatments over 3 years found 0 cases each of nodule, granuloma and infection. That said, "it was not reported" and "it does not happen" are different things.
Is what is felt a few days after a procedure different from what arises some months later?
They are different. What is felt within 2 weeks is for the most part a non-inflammatory lump made by product pooling in one layer, and it is not red or painful. In a study of 27 patients checked by ultrasound, the nodules were all within the fascial layer. By contrast, what appears red and painful beyond 2 weeks — and particularly at around 3 to 4 months — is a delayed reaction of a different character. That said, among delayed reactions there are reported cases appearing within 24 hours, so the timing is the first clue, not the conclusion.
If a nodule forms, will it stay for life?
No. Granulomas related to hyaluronic acid are set out as resolving within about 1 year in most cases even without treatment, and another source reported resolution of all of them within 2 years. For poly-L-lactide nodules too, resolution of 85 to 95% or more under conservative management has been reported in several studies. And in data following adverse events from hyaluronic acid fillers over 5 years, 90% were mild and required no intervention. That said, these resolution rates are not figures from studies with a no-treatment control group.
If a nodule forms, what is done first?
We look at the size and the character first. If it is small and in the course of settling, we watch it. If there is a soft, fluctuant quality, we check by ultrasound, drain it and send a culture. If it is red, painful and inflammatory, what the consensus documents place first is antibiotics, and if it is a hyaluronic acid preparation we use hyaluronidase after starting antibiotics. If it still remains, we consider an intralesional steroid, and systemic steroids are restricted to very severe cases.
If it is hyaluronic acid, can we not just dissolve it straight away?
When infection is suspected we do not dissolve it straight away. The product labelling states that it is not to be used when there is an active infection, because breaking down hyaluronic acid removes the tissue's barrier to diffusion so that the infection may spread. That said, clinical comparative data showing that hyaluronidase actually spread an infection we did not find. The grounds are the three of the product label, the pharmacological mechanism and expert consensus, and so what has been agreed is not "absolutely contraindicated" but "after antibiotics have been started first".
If no bacteria grow on culture, does that mean it is not an infection?
One must not conclude that. In a study that re-examined by fluorescence in situ hybridisation the tissue of long-persisting nodules whose cultures had come back negative, bacteria were detected in 7 of 8 patients. The bacteria were not scattered but present in the form of aggregates inside the gel and in the tissue between. A surface swab does not catch bacteria embedded within the tissue, and if antibiotics are used before the specimen is taken, the bacteria will not grow in culture.
I hear Sculptra causes a lot of nodules?
That was so in the early data, and it is different now. What was 17.2% in the 2009 registration trial (116 patients) was 1.0% in the 2023 registration trial (97 patients). In between, the dilution volume for reconstituting the product went from 5 mL to 9 mL, and in one randomised comparison (150 patients) it was 1.3% at a dilution volume of 10 to 12 mL and 8% with the standard protocol. It means this is a risk that can be lowered by technique, and it is why we dilute generously.
Is there evidence for putting off dental treatment after a procedure?
The direction is reasonable, but a trial or cohort validating the figure of "2 weeks" we did not find. It is the consensus wording of a 4-member expert panel. That said, that viral infections such as a cold or influenza and dental treatment can be a trigger for a delayed reaction is itself pointed out in common by several consensus documents, and it is a measure that costs nothing, so we include it in our guidance.
Would it not be good to take antibiotics as a preventive?
Prophylactic antibiotics are not recommended anywhere in the five main consensus documents. We do not use them either. Instead we put our effort into the side that actually has evidence — removing make-up completely, not finishing with alcohol alone, and not passing through a contaminated surface many times with one needle. There is an in vitro experiment showing that when a needle passes repeatedly through a contaminated surface, contamination of the product increases 10,000-fold (p<0.001).
Do nodules form with PCL products such as GOURI as well?
In a retrospective study following 780 patients and 1,111 treatments over 3 years, there were 0 cases each of nodule, granuloma, infection and intravascular injection. The same study reported persistent oedema 4.5%, bruising 2.7% and a temporarily palpable lump 0.45%, so it was not a study that fails to count adverse events. That said, it is as well to know that these are single-centre retrospective data, and that PCL does not dissolve with hyaluronidase. So for this family the layer and the amount at the time of the first injection matter more.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by Lee Chi-Hak, MD, medical director of Miso Clinic in Daegu, South Korea. Every study cited above is given together with its design, its size and the limitations the authors themselves recorded, and where we could not find data, we have said that we could not find any.
| Medical director | Lee Chi-Hak, MD |
|---|---|
| Address | 4F Bombom Building, 125 Dongdeok-ro, Jung-gu, Daegu, South Korea · Exit 1, Kyungpook National University Hospital Station |
| Phone | +82-53-428-2700 |
| Hours | Weekdays 11:00–19:00 (lunch 13:00–14:00) / Saturday 10:00–16:00 (no lunch break) / Closed Sundays and public holidays |
| Columns | All clinical columns |
| Reference library | All booster and device references |
References
- The 0.33% for delayed-onset hyaluronic acid nodules is Rivers JK, “Incidence and treatment of delayed-onset nodules after VYC filler injections to 2139 patients at a single Canadian clinic”, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2022 — single-centre retrospective chart review, 7/2,139, all female, 1 case confirmed as a foreign body granuloma on biopsy, unrelated to injection technique · volume.
- The 0.8% for the dermal injection type is Niforos F et al., Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology 2019 — prospective single-arm, 131 patients, 1 case on day 122, treatment-related adverse events 15.3%, mass at the injection site 9.2%.
- The PCL data on 1,111 treatments are Lin SL & Christen MO, “Polycaprolactone-based dermal filler complications: A retrospective study of 1111 treatments”, Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology 2020;19(8):1907 — 780 patients · 1,111 treatments, 3 years, persistent oedema 4.5% · bruising 2.7% · maxillary oedema 0.72% · temporary lump 0.45%, 0 cases of nodule · granuloma · infection · intravascular injection. We state that the denominator is treatments, not patients.
- The CaHA figures are Amiri M et al., Journal of Clinical Medicine 2024;13(6):1686 — 13 controlled trials · 1,171 patients, back of the hand 7/112 (6.2%).
- The PLLA registration trials are the United States FDA premarket approval summaries P030050/S002 (2009, 20/116 = 17.2%) and P030050/S039 (2023, 1/97 = 1.0%). The randomised comparison of dilution volume (150 patients, 1.3% at 10 to 12 mL versus 8% standard) is the data of Palm et al. as collated by Flores Rodríguez JC et al., Cureus 2026;18(6):e110742.
- The division by timing and the granuloma incidence of 0.02 to 0.4% are Convery C, Davies E, Murray G, Walker L, Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology 2021;14(7):E59 — defining a delayed-onset nodule as “at least 2 weeks after injection”.
- The commonest onset at 3 to 4 months, the maximum of 71% between September and December, and the 0.5 to 4% for low molecular weight hyaluronic acid formulations are Alizadeh N, Baranska-Rybak W, Lajo-Plaza JV, Walker L, Dermatology and Therapy 2024 — consensus recommendations of a 4-member panel from dermatology · aesthetic medicine · plastic surgery · dentistry.
- The ultrasound findings on the fascial layer are Schelke LW, Decates TS, Cartier H, Cotofana S, Velthuis PJ, “Investigating the Anatomic Location of Soft Tissue Fillers in Noninflammatory Nodule Formation”, Dermatologic Surgery 2023;49(6):588 — 18 MHz ultrasound, 27 patients, location within the fascial layer in every case, 14 confined to the fascia · 8 extending into the subcutis · 5 with migration.
- The detection of bacteria in culture-negative nodules is Bjarnsholt T, Tolker-Nielsen T, Givskov M, Janssen M, Christensen L, “Detection of Bacteria by Fluorescence in Situ Hybridization in Culture-Negative Soft Tissue Filler Lesions”, Dermatologic Surgery 2009;35(Suppl 2):1620 — 7 of 8 patients, in the form of aggregates.
- The increase in contamination with repeated needle passes is Saththianathan M, Johani K, Taylor A, Hu H, Vickery K, Callan P, Deva AK, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery 2017;139(3):613 — a 10,000-fold increase on repeated passage through a contaminated surface (p<0.001), with biofilm confirmed in specimens from patients with chronic granulomas.
- The limits of culture and the handling of specimens are Convery 2021 above — a swab samples only surface bacteria, biofilm requires sonication, and culture is not possible where antibiotics were used before sampling.
- The treatment algorithms are Artzi O et al., Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology 2020 (an 18-member panel from 10 countries), Urdiales-Gálvez F et al., Aesthetic Plastic Surgery 2018 and King M, Bassett S, Davies E, King S, Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology 2016;9(11):E1 (the United Kingdom ACE Group) — all of them expert consensus, with no grade of evidence assigned.
- The caution over hyaluronidase in infection is the product labelling cited by Urdiales-Gálvez 2018 — “use in the presence of an active infection may spread the infection to the adjacent tissue”.
- The mapping of the level of evidence for treatment is Flores Rodríguez JC et al., Cureus 2026;18(6):e110742 — PRISMA-ScR, 40 papers. Intralesional triamcinolone Moderate, but stated expressly as “no PLLA-specific randomised trial”. The spontaneous resolution rates of 95%/96%/92%/85%/85% are also figures collated by this review, and the authors warned that “because resolution rates vary widely, avoid percentage estimates”.
- The heterogeneity of actual clinical practice is Shalmon D, Cohen JL, Landau M, Verner I, Sprecher E, Artzi O, Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology 2020;13:345 — 334 respondents, combination therapy 67%, the commonest combination only 14.7%.
- That 90% of adverse events are mild is Rivers 2022 above and the related 5-year follow-up data. The division of evidence for aseptic · preventive measures is Alizadeh 2024 above and Saththianathan 2017.
- What we were not able to verify — ① a randomised trial showing a benefit from prophylactic antibiotics ② data validating the period in “avoid dental treatment for 2 weeks” ③ a clinical comparison showing that strengthened aseptic technique actually reduced delayed-onset nodules ④ clinical evidence that hyaluronidase spread an infection ⑤ a nodule incidence with a denominator for the PDLLA family ⑥ randomised controlled trials on the treatment of nodules generally.
Everything in this column is general information and does not replace medical diagnosis or treatment. Effects and side effects vary with individual skin condition, age and underlying illness, and the same result is not guaranteed for everyone. Any decision to proceed should be made in an in-person consultation with a physician.
← Clinical columns · Reference library · Miso Clinic home
한국어 · English · 日本語 · 简体中文 · Español · Tiếng Việt · ภาษาไทย · Bahasa Indonesia