What is the difference between filler and boosters
“Filler fills, boosters improve the skin” — that is the usual explanation. We have explained it that way too. But when we looked for the evidence, this distinction did not hang on the material, nor on regulation, nor on physical properties. The same material changes category depending on whether it is diluted, and the only paper that tried to define skin boosters was retracted. We have written down exactly what we found actually divides them.
The conclusion, first
Filler and boosters are not the names of different materials but the names of treatments that answer different questions. They do not divide by material — CaHA used undiluted is volume, and diluted it is a booster. hADM has been tested both as a booster and as a filler. They do not divide by regulation either — neither Korea's MFDS nor the FDA has a product category called “skin booster”, and both are classified as the same medical device. Nor is it clean by physical properties — there are products used as boosters that are firmer than volumising fillers. Only three things actually divide them — where it is placed (depth), what is measured (volume · wrinkles versus elasticity · hydration · pores), and whether it can be reversed. The last item is the most practical one for patients — only hyaluronic acid can be dissolved, and for the rest there is no antidote.
First — the term ‘skin booster’ has no academic definition
The first thing we checked while writing this article was the official definition of “what a skin booster is”. This is the result.
- The only paper that attempted to formally define and classify skin boosters was published in 2024 and then retracted.
- It is not a regulatory category. According to a review article, “the majority of injectable fillers are classified as class III medical devices regardless of composition”. Boosters and fillers sit in the same place.
- The US FDA approved an indication, not a category. The indication for one hyaluronic acid product approved in 2023 was improvement of “skin smoothness of the cheeks”. A new indication was created, not a new category.
There is one thing that has been defined. Ten experts from eight countries produced a consensus statement organising “skin quality” into four attributes — tone evenness, surface evenness, firmness and glow. However, this is expert opinion rather than evidence, and it does not define which products are boosters either.
So this article does not begin with “what is a booster”. That question has no answer. Instead we look at “what actually differs”.
They do not divide by material — the same substance is used both ways
Let us start with the clearest counterexample.
| Material | Used as filler | Used as a booster |
|---|---|---|
| CaHA (Radiesse · DCLASSY) | Undiluted — nasolabial folds, with 40% still showing maintained improvement beyond 30 months in 39-month follow-up | Diluted 1:2 to 1:6 — neck · décolletage, with type I collagen on biopsy at p<0.05 at 4 months and p<0.00001 at 7 months |
| hADM (Re2O · CellREDM family) | Randomised non-inferiority trial in nasolabial folds (202 allocated · 175 completed) — assessed by wrinkle grade | Split-face double-blind randomised trial (20 patients) — assessed by skin density · water loss · pores |
| Hyaluronic acid | Deep-plane bolus — volume and contour | Multi-point intradermal injection — texture and hydration |
Undiluted CaHA is from Bass et al., Aesthet Surg J 2010 (117 enrolled · 102 completed). Diluted CaHA is from Yutskovskaya · Kogan, JDD 2017 (20-patient pilot, no control group). The hADM filler trial used a Chinese product and was not Re2O or CellREDM.
In other words, what determines the category is not the substance in the vial but how much it is diluted and which layer it is placed in. The same vial of Radiesse is used for volume treatments and for treating the skin of the neck.
There is an interesting case on the regulatory side too. One PDO powder product was approved by Korea's MFDS in 2021 as a ‘filler device’, yet the study evaluating it placed it in the nasolabial folds and measured roughness · elasticity · hydration · pores. A product licensed as a filler, in a filler location, measured with booster endpoints.
Nor is it clean by physical properties
The explanation that “boosters are thin and fillers are firm” is also common. Looking at the actual measurements, it is not that simple.
The value that expresses the firmness of a gel is called G′. There is a study that measured three products classified as boosters under the same conditions.
| Item | Product A | Product B | Product C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hyaluronic acid concentration | 20 mg/mL | 12 mg/mL | 25 mg/mL |
| G′ (firmness) | 430 Pa | 120 Pa | 40 Pa |
| Cross-linking ratio | 1.1 mol% | 7.0 mol% | 9.5 mol% |
Schiraldi C et al., Int J Mol Sci 2021;22(11):6005. Within the same “booster” category, G′ differs by more than tenfold. The authors note “the wide variability in gel behaviour and the unexpected similarity to volumising formulations”.
There is one more thing. In a separate study, the G′ of a representative volumising filler was measured at 219.9 Pa. That is lower than Product A in the table above (430 Pa).
But we will be honest. The two figures come from different papers and different measurement conditions, so they must not be compared directly. We could not find a paper that measured fillers and boosters side by side under the same protocol. Even so, we can say that “boosters are thin” is not self-evident.
The explanation that “boosters are the non-cross-linked ones” does not hold either. All three products in the table above are cross-linked, and BYRYZN, which Miso Clinic uses, is cross-linked hyaluronic acid as well.
The first thing that does divide them — what is measured
If it is not the material, what is different? The first answer is what the trials measured.
| What the filler family measures | What the booster family measures |
|---|---|
| Wrinkle grade (WSRS and similar) | Elasticity (cutometer · indentometer) |
| Volume · amount of lift (three-dimensional measurement) | Hydration · transepidermal water loss (TEWL) |
| Nasolabial folds · cheek contour | Pore area · dermal density · pigment · erythema |
Organising the evidence for the boosters Miso Clinic uses by this standard gives the following.
| Family | Strongest evidence | What was measured |
|---|---|---|
| PN (Rejuran) | Phase III randomised double-blind, 72 patients — the highest level in this field | Wrinkle improvement rate 95.7% versus 94.3% for control (non-inferiority). Local adverse events were fewer with PN (31.9% versus 48.6%, p=0.042) |
| PN (periorbital) | Randomised double-blind split-face, 27 patients | Superior to control in elasticity · hydration · pore volume. No difference in dermal density |
| PDLLA (Juvelook) | Randomised evaluator-blinded multicentre, 260 Asian patients | Already superior to control at 4 weeks, 67.6% improvement at 24 weeks. Rapid decline after 24 weeks |
| Diluted CaHA (Radiesse · DCLASSY) | 20-patient pilot, no control group | Biopsy — type I · type III collagen, elastin, neovascularisation |
| hADM (Re2O · CellREDM) | Randomised split-face double-blind, 20 patients, Severance | Superior to hyaluronic acid across every measure — density · elasticity · water loss · pores · pigment |
| Liquid PCL (GOURI) | 2 case reports | Subjective assessment only. No objective measurement |
The strength of evidence differs greatly between families. The phase III trial for Rejuran is the most robust, while for liquid PCL two case reports are all there is. It is better to know this difference when choosing.
And we will add this honestly. There are products for which no clinical trial naming the product exists — Rejuran Eye, Juvelook Volume, BYRYZN, DCLASSY, and Re2O · CellREDM individually. These end up being explained by borrowing the evidence for other products in the same family. We have written the same thing on our product pages.
There is no trial directly comparing filler and boosters
We are often asked “which of the two is better”. The answer is that no trial exists that could answer that question.
Every comparison that exists is within the same category — filler against filler, or booster against booster. We could not find a trial that randomly allocated patients to compare a volumising filler with a skin booster.
The reason is simple. Because the primary endpoints differ, the design does not hold together in the first place. One side measures by wrinkle grade and the other by cutometer and water loss, and the two cannot be put on the same scale.
So “which is better” is the wrong question. The right question is “is my problem volume, or texture?” If your cheek has hollowed and casts a shadow, improving texture leaves the shadow where it was; if your skin is thin and rough, adding volume leaves the texture where it was.
We will also be clear about doing both together. We could not find a randomised trial combining filler and boosters. There are no trial data on order · interval · interaction. There is literature that mentions synergy, but that is the authors' hypothesis, not something tested.
The most practical difference — can it be reversed
We think this is the most important part for patients.
Hyaluronic acid can be dissolved. It is broken down by injecting an enzyme called hyaluronidase. However, the time required differs by more than twelvefold between products.
| Manufacturing method | Time to degradation | Amount of enzyme required |
|---|---|---|
| Fastest-dissolving product | 3.6 minutes | 50 µL |
| Intermediate | 14 to 22 minutes | 150 to 200 µL |
| Slowest-dissolving product | 45.1 minutes | 475 µL |
Aesthetic Surgery Journal 2024;44(6):NP402. 16 hyaluronic acid products, 6 manufacturing technologies, 37°C. The authors' conclusion — “manufacturing technology is the factor with the greatest influence on reversibility” — and there was no clear correlation with concentration.
For anything that is not hyaluronic acid, there is no antidote.
| Material | Antidote |
|---|---|
| Hyaluronic acid (cross-linked · non-cross-linked) | Hyaluronidase — yes |
| CaHA | None. A 2024 expert review states explicitly that “there is no reversal agent for CaHA”. Sodium thiosulfate has been confirmed to be ineffective and is not recommended |
| PDLLA · PCL · PN · hADM | We could not find any literature on an antidote |
Of the 10 boosters Miso Clinic stocks, only one, BYRYZN, is in the hyaluronic acid family. For the rest, no method of reversal is known. This is the practical reason we proceed “in stages, a little at a time”. When handling something irreversible, it is safer to start small and add.
We would add that even the protocol for using hyaluronidase in a vascular event has no randomised trial behind it. The recommendation to use a high dose of 450 to 1,500 units within 4 hours rests on expert consensus and observational studies.
Safety — an asymmetry with numbers attached
Blindness is the most feared complication of filler treatment. The numbers have accumulated.
- 2019 review (48 new cases, 146 cumulative): the causative material was hyaluronic acid in 81.3% and CaHA in 10.4%. Sites were the nose 56.3%, the glabella 27.1% and the forehead 18.8%.
- 2024 review (365 new cases, a century of cumulative cases): hyaluronic acid 79.6%. Of the 318 cases with reported outcomes, full recovery 6.0%, partial 25.8%, no recovery 68.2%.
- The incidence is estimated at roughly 1 in 200,000 treatments, but under-reporting is certain. In large prospective studies, vascular complications overall were under 1% and early vascular injury about 0.07%.
The description of the most dangerous layer is this — “the safest planes are deep on bone or very superficial dermis, with the subcutaneous layer being the most dangerous location, where the vessels run”.
There is something here we must write honestly. The claim that “boosters are placed superficially, so there are no vascular events” is not true. There are counterexamples — a case has been reported of a 23-year-old whose retinal artery occluded within seconds of PDLLA being placed in the glabella (hyaluronidase does not work on PDLLA), and there is also a case of delayed vascular occlusion 48 hours later from a hyaluronic acid booster placed intradermally in 0.01mL portions. The risk is likely to be low, but no study has quantified it, and it is not zero.
We will also record the review's sentences on the non-hyaluronic acid family — “although reported less frequently, they were more often associated with severe ocular · neurological injury and were harder to reverse”, and “because there is no specific antidote, once an embolus forms it is difficult to remove”.
Delayed nodules were 0.33% in one single-centre retrospective study (2,139 patients) and 6.2% in a CaHA trial on the back of the hands. For PN · PDLLA · PCL · hADM we could not find a study with a denominator for the incidence of delayed nodules.
So on what basis do we choose
Translating the evidence so far into practice gives the following.
- We first separate whether the problem is volume or texture. If there is shadowing and a hollowed look, it is a volume problem; if the skin is thin, rough and the pores stand out, it is a texture problem. We do not try to solve both with one treatment.
- We do not answer “which is better”. Because there is no comparative trial. Instead we ask “what is bothering you”.
- We tell you in advance whether it can be reversed. Nine of Miso Clinic's 10 boosters have no antidote. You should not begin without knowing this.
- We proceed in stages. Because we are handling irreversible materials. That said, there is no trial directly comparing “staged is more natural”, so we state that this is our own approach.
- We tell you the strength of evidence for each family. We do not present a family with a phase III randomised trial and a family with two case reports as carrying the same weight.
- We are particularly careful with the nose and glabella. More than half of blindness cases involve the nose and a quarter the glabella.
A comparison of the 10 boosters is on the skin booster guide, and whether to do a booster or lifting first is covered in should I have a booster or a lifting treatment.
In summary
- What we confirmed — “skin booster” is not a regulatory category, and the only paper that tried to define it was retracted. Filler and boosters are generally the same class of medical device.
- What we confirmed — the same material changes category depending on dilution and the layer it is injected into. CaHA is the clearest example.
- What we confirmed — even among products classified as boosters, firmness differs by more than tenfold. “Boosters are thin” and “boosters are non-cross-linked” do not hold.
- What we confirmed — only hyaluronic acid can be dissolved, and it takes from 3.6 to 45.1 minutes depending on the product. CaHA · PDLLA · PCL · PN · hADM have no antidote.
- What does not exist — a randomised trial directly comparing filler and boosters, a study testing the two in combination, a study measuring the physical properties of the two families side by side under the same conditions, and a study measuring how long boosters persist in tissue by imaging.
- What is not true — “boosters are placed superficially, so there are no vascular events.” Counterexamples have been reported.
So the conclusion is that “filler and boosters are not different materials but different questions”. Whether you are asking about volume or about texture comes first, and after that comes “can this be reversed?” We strongly recommend asking that second question.
Frequently asked questions
What exactly is the difference between filler and skin boosters?
They do not divide by material. The same CaHA is a volumising filler undiluted and is used as a booster when diluted 1:2 to 1:6, and hADM has been tested both in a filler trial measuring wrinkle grade and in a booster trial measuring skin density, water loss and pores. They do not divide by regulation either: neither Korea's MFDS nor the FDA has a “skin booster” product category, and both are the same medical device. What actually divides them is three things — where it is placed, what is measured, and whether it can be reversed.
Is there an official definition of the term “skin booster”?
There is not. The only paper that attempted to formally define and classify skin boosters was published in 2024 and then retracted. If anything has been defined, it is a consensus statement in which 10 experts from eight countries organised “skin quality” into four attributes — tone evenness, surface evenness, firmness and glow — but this is expert opinion rather than evidence, and it does not define which products are boosters either.
Are boosters not thin and fillers firm?
It is not that clean. In a study measuring three hyaluronic acid products classified as boosters under the same conditions, firmness (G′) was 430 Pa, 120 Pa and 40 Pa — a difference of more than tenfold. In a separate study a representative volumising filler was measured at 219.9 Pa, so the firmest of the boosters is firmer than the volumising filler. However, the two figures come from different measurement conditions and must not be compared directly, and we could not find a study measuring the two families side by side under the same protocol. The explanation that “boosters are non-cross-linked” does not hold either.
Which is better, filler or boosters?
No trial exists that could answer that question. We could not find a trial that randomly allocated patients to compare a volumising filler with a skin booster, and in any case the primary endpoints differ so the design does not hold together — one side measures by wrinkle grade, the other by elasticity and water loss. The right question is “is my problem volume or texture?” If your cheek has hollowed and casts a shadow, improving texture leaves the shadow where it was; if your skin is thin and rough, adding volume leaves the texture where it was.
If I do not like the result, can it be reversed?
Only hyaluronic acid can. It is broken down by an enzyme called hyaluronidase, and in an in vitro study this took from 3.6 to 45.1 minutes depending on the product — a difference of more than twelvefold — with the amount of enzyme required ranging from 50 to 475 microlitres. The authors concluded that manufacturing technology has the greatest influence on reversibility. For CaHA, a 2024 expert review states explicitly that “there is no reversal agent”, and sodium thiosulfate has been confirmed to be ineffective. For PDLLA, PCL, PN and hADM we could not find any literature on an antidote at all.
Are any of Miso Clinic's boosters reversible?
Of the 10, one — BYRYZN — is in the hyaluronic acid family. For the other nine — Rejuran, Rejuran Eye, Juvelook, Juvelook Volume, GOURI, Radiesse, DCLASSY, Re2O and CellREDM — no method of reversal is known. This is the practical reason we do not inject a large amount at once and proceed in stages instead. When handling irreversible materials, it is safer to start small and add.
Since boosters are placed superficially, surely there is no risk of a vascular event?
That is not true. Counterexamples have been reported — there is a case of a 23-year-old whose retinal artery occluded within seconds of PDLLA being injected into the glabella (hyaluronidase does not work on PDLLA), and there is also a case of delayed vascular occlusion 48 hours later from a hyaluronic acid booster placed intradermally in 0.01mL portions. The risk is likely to be low, but no study has quantified it and it is not zero. For reference, the causative material in blindness cases is hyaluronic acid in about 80%, and the sites are the nose in more than half and the glabella in a quarter.
Can I have several different boosters together? What about with filler?
We could not find a randomised trial combining filler and boosters. There are no trial data on order, interval or interaction. There is literature that mentions synergy, but that is the authors' hypothesis, not something tested. Combining with energy-based devices is a separate matter, however: because the heat of radiofrequency or ultrasound degrades hyaluronic acid, the recommended order is the device treatment first and the injection afterwards.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by Lee Chi-Hak, MD, medical director of Miso Clinic in Daegu, South Korea. Every study cited above is given together with its design, its size and the limitations the authors themselves recorded, and where we could not find data, we have said that we could not find any.
| Medical director | Lee Chi-Hak, MD |
|---|---|
| Address | 4F Bombom Building, 125 Dongdeok-ro, Jung-gu, Daegu, South Korea · Exit 1, Kyungpook National University Hospital Station |
| Phone | +82-53-428-2700 |
| Hours | Weekdays 11:00–19:00 (lunch 13:00–14:00) / Saturday 10:00–16:00 (no lunch break) / Closed Sundays and public holidays |
| Columns | All clinical columns |
| Reference library | All booster and device references |
References
- The paper that attempted to define skin boosters (Skin Research and Technology 2024;30(3):e13627) was RETRACTED. We only confirmed the retraction notice on the publisher's page and could not access the original text of the reason for retraction. The regulatory classification is cited from Allen J · Dodou K, Cosmetics 2024;11(2):54 (“class III medical devices regardless of composition”). We could not verify the primary source material from Korea's MFDS because of a site access error — the product name · class · licensed intended use of each product, and whether an MFDS classification for “skin booster” exists, remain unverified.
- The “skin quality” consensus statement is Goldie K et al., CCID 2021;14:643-654 (modified Delphi, panel of 10, eight countries — including Korea). It is expert opinion, not evidence. The FDA indication is from 2023 approval material, and the improvement rate in the control group is not stated in the publicly available documents.
- The physical property measurements are from Schiraldi C et al., Int J Mol Sci 2021;22(11):6005 (3 boosters, 0.7Hz) and Stocks D et al., J Drugs Dermatol 2011;10(9):974-980 (5 fillers, 10 rad/s, 24°C). The measurement frequency and temperature differ, so the values from the two papers cannot be compared directly, and we could not find a paper measuring the two families side by side under the same protocol.
- Undiluted CaHA is from Bass LS et al., Aesthet Surg J 2010;30(2):235-238 (117 enrolled · 102 patients, up to 39 months), and the diluted form from Yutskovskaya YA · Kogan EA, JDD 2017;16(1):68-74 (20-patient pilot, no control group). PN is from Pak CS et al., J Korean Med Sci 2014;29(Suppl 3):S201-S209 (phase III randomised double-blind, 72 patients) and Lee YJ et al., J Dermatolog Treat 2022;33(1):254-260 (split-face, 27 patients).
- PDLLA is from Ting et al., Aesthetic Surgery Journal 2024;44(12):NP898 (randomised evaluator-blinded multicentre, 260 Asian patients). The hADM booster trial is Int J Mol Sci 2026;27(5):2193 (split-face double-blind randomised, 20 patients, Severance — the paper does not state the product name, and no funding source · conflict of interest is disclosed either), and the hADM filler trial is Aesthetic Plast Surg 2025 (202 allocated · 175 completed — a Chinese product, not Re2O or CellREDM). For liquid PCL, 2 case reports (Annals of Case Reports 2023) are all there is.
- The reversal kinetics are from Aesthetic Surgery Journal 2024;44(6):NP402 (in vitro, 16 hyaluronic acid products, 6 manufacturing technologies, 37°C: 3.6 minutes · 50µL to 45.1 minutes · 475µL). The absence of a reversal agent for CaHA and the ineffectiveness of sodium thiosulfate are from McCarthy AD et al., Aesthet Surg J 2024;44(8):869-879 (structured review by 5 experts, level of evidence 4). We could not find literature on antidotes for PDLLA · PCL · PN · hADM.
- The blindness data are from Beleznay K et al., Aesthet Surg J 2019;39(6):662-674 (48 new · 146 cumulative cases: hyaluronic acid 81.3%, nose 56.3%) and Doyon VC et al., Aesthet Surg J 2024;44(10):1091-1104 (365 new cases: hyaluronic acid 79.6%, of 318 cases with reported outcomes full recovery 6.0% · no recovery 68.2%). The incidence of vascular complications and the description of the non-hyaluronic acid family are from Oral 2026;6(3):51 (systematic review of 91 papers).
- The counterexamples of vascular events with boosters are BMC Ophthalmology 2023;23:97 (retinal artery occlusion after PDLLA injection into the glabella, aged 23) and a case of delayed vascular occlusion in J Cutan Aesthet Surg (hyaluronic acid booster, intradermal 0.01mL micropuncture, 48 hours later). For the latter we could not verify the authors · year · volume and issue. There is no study quantifying the vascular risk of boosters.
- Delayed nodules are from Rivers JK, J Cosmet Dermatol 2022 (single-centre retrospective, 7 of 2,139 patients — 0.33%) and J Clin Med 2024;13(6):1686 (CaHA on the back of the hands, 6.2%). For PN · PDLLA · PCL · hADM we could not find an incidence study with a denominator. The hyaluronidase protocol (450 to 1,500 units within 4 hours) is the ACE Group guideline and rests on expert consensus and observational studies, with no randomised trial.
- Products for which we could not find a clinical trial naming the product — Rejuran Eye, Juvelook Volume, BYRYZN, DCLASSY, Re2O, CellREDM. The online material on these was mostly distributor or clinic pages. We have written the same thing on each product page.
- This article does not guarantee the efficacy or safety of any particular product. Indications and expected results vary with each individual's condition, and consultation through an examination is necessary.
Everything in this column is general information and does not replace medical diagnosis or treatment. Effects and side effects vary with individual skin condition, age and underlying illness, and the same result is not guaranteed for everyone. Any decision to proceed should be made in an in-person consultation with a physician.
← Clinical columns · Reference library · Miso Clinic home
한국어 · English · 日本語 · 简体中文 · Español · Tiếng Việt · ภาษาไทย · Bahasa Indonesia