Miso Clinic · Clinical column

Does Rituo hurt? Pain, anaesthesia and how long bruising lasts

Looking for the best clinic for Rituo in Daegu usually ends at the same three questions — how much does it hurt, do I need sedation, can I go to work tomorrow. Here are the numbers we can actually verify. One thing up front: the difference between instruments is smaller than it is usually made to sound.

Clinical column 8 min September 2026 Miso Clinic Daegu · Dr Lee Chi-Hak

The short version

In a trial comparing instruments, pain scored 34.7 for a cannula against 41.3 for a needle on a 100-point scale, and the authors themselves described the gap as clinically unimportant. Bruising was significantly less with the cannula. But that trial used hyaluronic acid filler, and we could not find any study comparing the two instruments for hADM. Read the figures below inside that limit.

How true is “a cannula hurts less”?

The claim is everywhere; the number behind it is rarely quoted. Fifty people had hyaluronic acid filler placed in the nasolabial folds in a split-face comparison (Clin Cosmet Investig Dermatol. 2023;16:959–972).

Pain and bruising by instrument (50 subjects, split-face, HA filler)
MeasureCannulaNeedleAuthors’ assessment
Pain (100-point scale)34.741.3difficult to regard as clinically meaningful
Bruisingsignificantly less with the cannulaeffect size not reported

That is 6.6 points. On a 100-point scale, 6.6 is “slightly less” — not the difference between a painful treatment and a comfortable one. We should also record that the study was manufacturer-supported.

There is a result in the other direction too. In a randomised crossover study of hyaluronic acid under the eye, no difference in efficacy, safety or satisfaction was found between the instruments (Aesthet Surg J. 2022;42(3):285–297).

Where does Rituo actually go?

Before the instrument, the layer. Rituo targets the dermis — shallow, spread across many small entry points.

The evidence favouring cannulas came from the deep plane. In cadaver foreheads injected deep, the proportion staying in the intended plane split 100% against 40%, with horizontal spread of 25.6 mm against 13.5 mm (J Drugs Dermatol. 2017;16(9):866–872, 10 cadavers). That study did not compare intradermal injection.

A survey of 235 Korean dermatologists reported the technique for this category as a 33G needle, multiple punctures, intradermal (J Cosmet Dermatol. 2024, from the abstract). For shallow placement across many points, a fine needle is the natural choice.

So “the cannula is better” is a sentence from deep-plane injection, and not about the layer Rituo goes into.

Is sedation necessary?

Plainly: we could not find a trial comparing the benefit of sedation for this treatment. So we cannot tell you it is needed, or that it is not, on evidence.

What we can offer instead. Shallow intradermal placement across many points is generally within what topical anaesthetic covers, and few of our patients ask for sedation. Sedation, meanwhile, carries its own risk and recovery time.

So we say this: if pain worries you, talk to us about dividing the area treated in one visit before you think about sedation. That too is our clinical judgement rather than a trial result.

Bruising and swelling — if you have something on tomorrow

On bruising the direction is reasonably consistent: in the 50-subject study the cannula produced significantly less. But the effect size was not reported, so we cannot tell you how much less.

Practical points that do help.

  • Tell us the date you need to look normal. The area and the instrument can be planned around it.
  • The eye area is handled separately. Thin skin makes the same marks more visible.
  • Tell us about medicines or supplements affecting clotting. Whether to pause them is a question for whoever prescribed them, so we do not decide it unilaterally.

Rare, but worth knowing

Pain and bruising are inconvenience; vascular events are a different category. In a survey of 370 dermatologists recalling the past decade, vascular occlusion was estimated at one per 6,410 needle treatments and one per 40,882 cannula treatments (JAMA Dermatol. 2021;157(2):174–180).

The authors listed the limits themselves: it is recall-based, it is not a comparative trial, and it is not adjusted per patient. Read it only as an estimate.

What matters more than frequency, in our view, is the plan. “That can happen” and “if this occurs we do this, and if it has not settled by this point we do that” are different answers, and the difference is audible in a consultation.

Note also that this category has no established dissolving agent as hyaluronic acid does; we could not verify a primary study of any reversal agent. Hearing the adverse-event plan beforehand matters more here than elsewhere.

How we decide

This is the order we work through when pain is the concern.

  • We do not try to solve pain with the instrument. The measured gap was 6.6 points out of 100 and the authors called it clinically unimportant.
  • We match the instrument to the layer. The cannula’s advantage was demonstrated deep; Rituo goes shallow into the dermis.
  • We do not propose sedation first. No trial of its benefit here, and sedation carries its own risk. If you want it, we discuss it.
  • We ask about your calendar first. If bruising would be a problem on a given date, we divide the area.
  • We give the adverse-event plan before treatment — more important in a category with no established reversal agent.

Which treatment suits you depends on your skin condition, how much change you want, and what you have already had. Pain and downtime are among the conditions that go into that decision.

Frequently asked

Does Rituo hurt a lot?

It is placed shallow across many points, which is generally within what topical anaesthetic covers. We should say that we could not find a study measuring pain for hADM itself; the figures below come from hyaluronic acid filler research.

Does a cannula hurt less?

In a 50-subject split-face comparison, 34.7 for the cannula against 41.3 for the needle on a 100-point scale — and the authors described the gap as difficult to regard as clinically meaningful. A randomised crossover study under the eye found no difference between the instruments.

Should I have sedation?

We could not find a trial comparing the benefit of sedation for this treatment. Since sedation carries its own risk and recovery time, we do not propose it first. If pain worries you, we suggest dividing the area treated in one visit instead.

How long does bruising last?

In the 50-subject study bruising was significantly less with a cannula, but the effect size was not reported, so we cannot say how much less. Tell us any date you need to look normal and we will plan the area and instrument around it.

Can I go to work the next day?

Usually, but individual variation is wide. The eye area in particular shows marks more because the skin is thin. If you have something important, it is safer to choose the treatment date around it.

Which is safer, needle or cannula?

A survey-based estimate put vascular occlusion at one per 6,410 needle treatments and one per 40,882 cannula treatments. But it is recall-based, not a comparative trial, and not adjusted per patient. Read it only as an estimate.

If something goes wrong, can it be dissolved?

Not in the way hyaluronic acid can. We could not verify a primary study of any reversal agent for this material, which is why hearing the adverse-event plan beforehand matters more here.

Do I need to mention my medication?

Yes, particularly anything affecting clotting, including supplements. Whether to pause them is a question for whoever prescribed them, so we do not decide it unilaterally.

Read next

Who wrote this

Lee Chi-Hak, Director, Miso Clinic Daegu

4F Bombom Building, 125 Dongdeok-ro, Jung-gu, Daegu, Korea (Exit 1, Kyungpook National University Hospital Station)

+82-53-428-2700 · www.clinicmiso.co.kr

References

  1. Beer K, et al. Clin Cosmet Investig Dermatol. 2023;16:959–972 (50 subjects, nasolabial folds, split-face — pain 34.7 cannula versus 41.3 needle; authors: difficult to regard as clinically meaningful. Bruising significantly less with cannula, effect size not reported. Manufacturer-supported)
  2. Nikolis A, et al. Aesthet Surg J. 2022;42(3):285–297 (infraorbital, randomised crossover — no difference in efficacy, safety or satisfaction between instruments)
  3. Pavicic T, et al. J Drugs Dermatol. 2017;16(9):866–872 (10 cadavers, forehead, deep plane — intended plane retained 100% versus 40%, horizontal spread 25.6 mm versus 13.5 mm. Not a comparison of intradermal injection)
  4. Rho NK, et al. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2024 (235 Korean dermatologists — 33G needle, multiple punctures, intradermal; from the abstract)
  5. Alam M, et al. JAMA Dermatol. 2021;157(2):174–180 (survey of 370 dermatologists — estimated vascular occlusion one per 6,410 needle and one per 40,882 cannula treatments. Not a comparative trial, not adjusted per patient)
  6. Lee YI, et al. Int J Mol Sci. 2026;27(5):2193 (Rituo human trial, 20 subjects, 20 weeks — pain was not a primary endpoint)
  7. Medical Service Act art. 56(2) — restriction on testimonial advertising

What we could not verify

  • Any study comparing needle and cannula for hADM — every pain and bruising figure above comes from hyaluronic acid filler research.
  • Any trial of the benefit of sedation for this treatment.
  • How much less bruising occurs — the effect size was not reported.
  • Any primary study of a reversal agent for this material.
  • National adverse-event tallies for hADM in Korea.
  • Any study validating our practice of dividing the treated area to reduce discomfort — it is clinical judgement.

Everything in this column is general information and does not replace medical diagnosis or treatment. Effects and side effects vary with individual skin condition, age and underlying illness, and the same result is not guaranteed for everyone. Any decision to proceed should be made in an in-person consultation with a physician.

← Clinical columns · Reference library · Miso Clinic Daegu

한국어 · English